Finally the original 23-man list has been reduced to just to the finall three names . These names as expected includes two Barcelona players and Christiano Ronaldo from Real Madrid. The winner will be revealed at a ceremony in Zurich on January 11, 2016.
The likes of Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar will contest the 2015 Ballon d’Or competition after the final shortlist was whittled down from 23 names to just three names. MESSI, NEYMAR & RONALDO MAKE BALLON D’OR SHORTLIST 2015

According to reports from fans, Lionel Messi goes into this award as  the favourite to land the accolade, because he led Barcelona to a famous treble last season, while Ronaldo is looking to defend his crown and draw level with the Argentine for overall wins.

But for Messi, if he is to pick up the Ballon d’Or at the ceremony in Zurich on January 11, 2016, it would be super star’s  fifth World Player of the Year award, meaning he has won it more than any other player in the world.  As the the case is now, Messi is joined on the podium by Barca team-mate Neymar, who netted 10 goals en route to Champions League triumph including scoring in the final against Juventus in Berlin.

Neymar the golden boy as he is popularly known among his fans, was also the joint-third top scorer in La Liga last season with 22 goals – and already has
14 this term – though his goal haul was put in the shadow by goals from of Messi (43 goals) and topscorer Ronaldo (48).

It should be noted that this year marks it the sixth straight time, the final three-man Ballon d’Or shortlist does not include a single Premier League player. It has been a decade since an Englishman last made the final three (Frank Lampard in 2005).

For the women’s nominees for their respective prize are the USA’s Carli Lloyd, Japan’s Aya Miyama and Germany’s Celia Sasic. And this time, there will be no Marta of Brazil.


Enter your email address:

Delivered by NaijaVoice